I found a journal on Google Books which I thought would be perfect to use as a source as it covered things that I found necessary to my work. This journal was called From Snapshots to Social Media: The Changing Picture of Domestic Photography. This outlined what domestic photography was. This provided me with an introduction and an opening quote for discussion within my essay.

‘We use the term domestic photography to describe the photographic activities of ordinary people taking and using images for non-professional purposes.’ Sarvas. R and Frohlich. D.M (2011)

This opening quote also explained what domestic photography was. This gave me a starting point to discuss how Instagram was originally intended for users to share their day to day photos with friends and family but how it has now changed into a site primarily used for marketing and bragging rights.